Five Cool Ones: Five New Albums Released This Week (September 20, 2019)

Brittany Howard – Jaime

The Alabama Shakes front-woman steps out with her powerful solo record. Combining Rock and Soul along with contemporary beats, her debut record goes low Nina Simone Slow one minute, James Brown Funk the next with a lot of Janelle Monáe flair thrown in for good measure. Named after her sister who passed away from retinal cancer when Brittany was 9, this album is a stunner.

Samantha Fish – Kill or Be Kind

Six albums in, and her first on Rounder Records, Samantha Fish is still somewhat of an unknown quantity. Whether she is laying down a greasy blues riff or belting out a Soul screamer, Samantha is a Swiss Army knife of talent. And, and if there is a musical God, her new record should land her on the music radar right alongside Beth Hart and Bonnie Raitt.

Zac Brown Band – The Owl

For some, The Zac Brown band jumped the Jimmy Buffet, Kenny Chesney shark some time ago. For others, what the heck. They are a good-time band with a fan friendly vibe that only serves to increase their popularity. Let the good times roll with more of the same from The Zac Brown Band.

Beth Hart – War in My Mind

Beth Hart has never been one to bury her darkest secrets, and on her latest record she continues to peel away the layers of her soul. This is one of those rare artists that you feel you really know and appreciate simply by listening to her songbook.

Robbie Robertson – Sinematic

For his first new record in 8 years, Robbie Robertson draws inspiration from his friend, Martin Scorsese, performs a duet with Van Morrison, and memorializes the old-time radio serial, The Shadow. The former leader of The Band even waxes nostalgic for his former band mates on “Once Were Brothers.”

What We’re Listening To Wednesday (September 18, 2019)

King Corduroy – All Right

Deep in the recesses of Rock is the New Roll H.Q. we have been going down more than a few Southern Rock rabbit holes. He calls his music Cosmic Southern Soul Music, but we just call it cool. There is more than a little 70’s Leon Russell swagger bandied about with this guy.

Raphael Saadiq – This World is Drunk

His new record, Jimmy Lee, is dedicated to his deceased brother. This triumphant return by an artist that consistently delivers thought provoking music that never fails to sooth the soul.

Yola – It Ain’t Easier

Most followers of Rock is the New Roll already know we are HUGE fans of pretty much any record that comes out of Easy Eye Sound. Yola’s new album, Walk Through The Fire, is a strong contender for song of the year.

Conway Twitty – Southern Comfort

With the current trend of contemporary Roots Americana artists reaching back to the classic outlaw artists of the day for their influences it is always good to go back to the barrooms in search of the originals. Here is a later day Conway Twitty gem that sounds like it could be a Chris Stapleton song.

The Wild – Playing With Fire

Canadian rockers, The Wild, throw it down like a more melodic Motörhead.

Lee Aaron – Watcha Do To My Body

And, speaking of Rock Chicks, the 30th anniversary of Lee Aaron’s Bodyrock is upon us.

Five Cool Ones: Five New Songs That Rock

Weezer – The End of the Game

The new Weezer album won’t be out until May but if this new rockier version of the band is any indication it is sure to be a scorcher.

Green Day – Father of All

The new record, Father of All, is set for a February 2020 release. The sound is still Green Day but Billie Joe takes the falsetto up a notch or two on this one.

Aubrie Sellers – My Love Will Not Change (feat Steve Earle)

A bit of of a change of Rock and Roll pace for these guys, Steve Earle channels his inner Ray Wylie Hubbard on this one.

Kissin’ Dynamite – Cadillac Maniac

Somewhat cooly bizarre hybrid of Stray Cats channeling Chris Isaak, this one ping pongs between Rockabilly and Sunset Strip Rock at the blink of an ear.

Alice Cooper – East Side Story

Alice Cooper has just released, Breadcrumbs, an E.P. paying tribute to Detroit Rock and Roll bands the likes of Grand Funk and the MC-5. Here, he covers a vintage Bob Seger deep cut.